Skip navigation

Night photography is often very difficult to do because if you don’t want any type of blur or noise, you have to do a lot of thinking. That is not the case when you desire a blurred effect. It is much easier and presents an opportunity to have fun and not worry so much if you subject stays in focus and has no graininess to it.


See Full Size >>

1 – LCD Painting – Rigby, ID 11/08/10 – f/2.8, 15″, ISO 80

I did not editing on any of these photos apart from minor enhancements to color, contrast, saturation, etc. To accomplish this photo I used a little LCD screen to move around while my camera placed on an object solid enough to keep it from moving. The colors turned out awesome.

2 – Swirl – Rigby, ID 11/08/10 – f/3.9, 1″, ISO 80 ā€“ Nikon S70

3 – Swirl- Rigby, ID 11/08/10 – f/3.9, 1″, ISO 80 ā€“ Nikon S70

These two swirls were done with two separate LED lights. One was a little LED lantern and the other was just a single LED light that I have on my key chain. Each light was set on my desk office and I used the camera itself this time to get the effect. What I did was swirl the camera round and round while I walked closer to the lights.

4 – Chasing Cars – Rigby, ID 11/08/10 – f/3.9, 1″, ISO 80 ā€“ Nikon S70

I live right off Highway 20 and knew I could get some moving cars in one of the cool nigh light effects. So I walked out through the snow and placed my camera on a fence post and set the aperture to a slow enough setting to capture some light movement.

2 Comments

    • Kimberly Gundersen
    • Posted November 12, 2010 at 9:01 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Shane, I love your night and lights. Especially the moving lights. There is so much detail in the ground. You did a great job.

  1. Great photos! I like how you added depth to your light paintings. That really adds a lot to the picture and makes it more interesting! Nice capture of the “chasing cars” too. I really like your pictures. Great job!


Leave a Reply

