Skip navigation

As I’ve said before, taking awesome portraits is my most difficult challenge. I try my hardest, there are so many variable to a great composed portrait that I have a long way to go before I’m completely comfortable. The knowledge I have working with me revolves around lighting, contrast, proper framing and an artistic eye. What I don’t know are all the techniques to making humans look their best. I’ll keep working at it.


See Full Size >>

1 – Aurora – Rexburg, ID 10/15/10 – f/3.9, 1/320, ISO 400 – Nikon S70


Aurora has been my first attempt to portraits of children. She did an awesome job posing for me. This shot was the cutest that I was able to get. All the adjusting that I did to this photo were done in Camera Raw.  Because I was editing human skin, the colors and softness were my main focus.  I first fixed the White Balance, adjusted the exposure contrast, saturation and clarity.  With the clarity slider, I brought the intensity down so that Aurora’s skin would look soft and baby like.  Then I adjusted the colors for the desired composition and added a slight vignette to ad focus.

2 – Hotel Window -Bannack, MT 09/29/10 – f/5.6, 1/60, ISO 800 – SONY A100

This shot of Marissa turned out better than I thought I could get it.  The challenge I had with this photo was it was shot at ISO 800 with a cheap camera so the noise was out of control. But with Camera Raw I was able to use the luminance slider to get rid of the noise and soften Marissa’s complexion at the same time. The other adjustments that I made were similar to the one I made with Aurora.

3 – The Leaches – Rexburg, ID 10/15/10 – f/3.9, 1/125, ISO 400 – Nikon S70

Aren’t they cute? Once again I made all my adjustments in Camera Raw. All the same adjustments as with Aurora and Marissa.

4 – The Crossroads – Rexburg, ID 10/19/10 – f/2.8, 1/40, ISO 400 – SONY H50

This shot was more up my alley. I’ve been shooting for BYU – Idaho’s campus newspaper, the Scroll, for 5 consecutive semesters, so shooting a shot of someone in their environment was no problem. All the same adjustments in Camera Raw expect for in this photo I needed to paint some light on the subjects face because it was not very well lighten up.

4 Comments

  1. All of your photos look great but my most favorite is Aurora. The lighting and composition, and she is just adorable. Great job.

  2. I love the picture of the little girl…I love the soften effect that you have on it. Her eyes are beautiful!

  3. I love your photo of Aurora. I love the lighting effect, the colors, and the editing you did in Camera Raw. She is such an adorable girl! It doesn’t look like you have trouble with portraits at all.

  4. I love the colors, composition, and vignette of the first portrait. It is so beautiful. Your subject is adorable. I can tell you started out with a beautiful picture and made it even better with your impressive edits. Great job!


Leave a Reply

