Skip navigation

This group of edited photos were the first of their kind that I’ve ever produced. We learned some awesome enhancing tricks in class that were implemented in all these photos. My favorite was the luminosity effect that I learned from an online tutorial. (see here) It was so fun to accomplish something so cool.


See Full Size >>

1 – Daughter of God – Rexburg, ID 10/15/10 – f/3.9, 1/320, ISO 400 – Nikon S70

2 – Daughter of God Original – Rexburg, ID 10/15/10 – f/3.9, 1/320, ISO 400 – Nikon S70

To accomplish the luminosity effect I had to have a photo who’s subject’s face has a shadow on one side and good lighting on the other.  Once I found the above photo, I adjusted the color, saturation, exposure, contrast etc. and then followed the directions on this blog.

3 – Green Scarf – Dubois, ID 09/29/10 – f/5.6, 1/200, ISO 100 – SONY A100

4 – Blue Scarf – Dubois, ID 09/29/10 – f/5.6, 1/200, ISO 100 – SONY A100

This shot of Kimber is great.  It especially worked well when I wanted to implement the color replace adjustment.  I tried the adjustment on other photos but it just didn’t work well.  But Kimber’s scarf worked awesome.  So, as usual, I made all my adjustments in Camera Raw and then in Photoshop I selected the blue pixels in the scarf and then went to Image/Adjustments/Replace Color and changed the color from blue to green.

5 – Family Photo – Rexburg, ID 10/15/10 – f/3.9, 1/110, ISO 400 – Nikon S70

6 – Family Photo Enhancements – Dubois, ID 09/29/10 – f/3.9, 1/110, ISO 400 – Nikon S70

The leaches are awesome to let me take their photos.  I was excited to try the new technique I learned in class with this photo.  I had always wanted to know how photographers adjust the complexion of peoples faces.  All the times I tried to adjust the complexion it always turned out overdone.  But once I learned the brush opacity tool, all my questions were answered.

So in this photo I adjusted the complexion of the faces, especially the women.  Sister Esplin mentioned that this technique is like putting make-up on someone.  Since I don’t put make-up on, I’ll use that as my disclaimer for why the enhancements are not all that amazing.  I used the same brush technique to adjust the color of the teeth, making them brighter and whiter.

7 – Color Match – Rexburg, ID 10/15/10 – f/3.9, 1/110, ISO 400 – Nikon S70

8 – Color Match Original – Rexburg, ID 10/15/10 – f/3.9, 1/110, ISO 400 – Nikon S70

9 – Color Match To: – Rexburg, ID 10/15/10 – f/3.9, 1/110, ISO 400 – Nikon S70

In these photos I used the Match Color technique.  That is, I took the two different photos above and matched the color from to the color of the other.  This technique proved to save myself a lot of adjusting time.  Rather than try and figure out the proper adjustments in Camera Raw, I could just match the color I liked from one photo to another photo.

2 Comments

  1. I really like the match color photo. The red leaves match her bow and her shirt. the leaves on the ground are cool as well. Good job giving the subject lead room. Great light on her face also.

  2. Excellent edit with the “Daughter of God” image. Very well put together, the text makes the image really powerful. Nice work!


Leave a Reply

