Skip navigation

Portraits, at least for me, are one of the most challenging photos to pull off. We like to look good in photos, that the first challenge to overcome and there are a vast amount of techniques and principles that must be followed in order for us to overcome this challenge. So in the photos below I tried my hardest to at least find good lighting and then work with that.


See Full Size >>

1 – Mike 1 – Dubois, ID 09/29/10 – f/5.6, 1/400, ISO 100 – SONY A100

2 – Mike 2 – Dubois, ID 09/29/10 – f/5.6, 1/400, ISO 100 – SONY A100

3 – Kimber – Dubois, ID 09/29/10 – f/5.6, 1/400, ISO 100 – SONY A100

All three of these portraits were shot during the most challenging circumstances imaginable. It was in the middle of the day, not a cloud in the sky and the light was extremely harsh. I knew I couldn’t shoot anywhere but the shade but also knew that if I shot there, I would have to fight harsh shadows. So my first goal was to find something that filtered or reflected the light so that I could get optimal soft lighting. My answer came from a little shop window that had been tinted yellow over the years. Because it was tinted yellow, the shop window proved to work well in filtering the harsh mid-day light. With that filtered light I could highlight my subjects faces while maintaining the features. I was lucky to find that spot.

3 Comments

  1. Your portraits turned out great! Great placement and lighting in both.

  2. Wow! Not only are the pictures great, but you have a talent of engaging one with your writing. And I’m not just saying that because I’m in a picture – which by the way I would love to get the files for – but all the pictures really are good!

    • Thank-you Mike. And you got it, I’ll get you the original files.


Leave a Reply

