Skip navigation

These first photos were taken from the same little hut as in my Color Study: Brown post.  That little hut’s amazing lighting from the west facing entrance made for some amazing shots that I couldn’t pass up.  The back bedroom once upon a time was surrounded by blue walls with a sing bed.  But time has rendered the room “broken”.

A blending effect applied to two different shots conveys the idea that time really has “broken” this little room.  NOTE:  The shots were taken at sunrise, luckily the light was filtered by a batch of clouds on the horizon.


See Full Size >>

1 – Broken – Rigby, ID – Cannon 1D Mark ii – photo overlay, type overlay, levels, color balance, clarity, exposure

2 – Broken Wall – Rigby, ID 09/18/10 – f/2.8, 1/13, ISO 500 – Cannon 1D Mark ii – levels, color balance, clarity, exposure

3 – Broken House – Rigby, ID 09/18/10 – f/2.8, 1/30, ISO 500 – Cannon 1D Mark ii – levels, color balance, clarity, exposure

This photo was taken from our front yard.  We have a hydrant and weeds for our landscaping because we just bought the house brand new and have not worked on the yard yet.  My wife was watering a little pathetic garden and I was imagining the weed around the hydrant begging for some water.  That’s were I got the idea.

4 – Dry – Rigby, ID 09/18/10 – f/2.8, 1/1000, ISO 500 – Cannon 1D Mark ii – type overlay, levels, color balance, clarity, exposure

6 Comments

  1. I love the photo of the broken house. The text is very fitting!

  2. First picture is really good. It does well at capturing the aging of the house.

  3. Really nice choice of combining the pictures with the text to make the overall image a one-of-a-kind. I like that your image of the water facet tells a story! That always makes pictures more interesting.

    • Brittani Hanchett
    • Posted September 23, 2010 at 12:28 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    I like the broken picture as well. I think it has great texture and image quality

  4. Hey Shane: Congratulations, you have won the “Pic of the Week.” You definitely have some of the best photos of the week, but I think my favorite of yours is this green room, with the amazing light on the wall. I realize that is one thing you are trying to improve, and I think you have a great image here. In fact, I would like to print it as an 8×10 for display. Can you bring the psd version on a flash drive to class tomorrow?

    • I’m honored! Thank-you. I’ll bring the psd tomorrow. And you’re right, I have been trying to improve my lighting scenarios. When it’s there I know how to capture it, but I’m more casual than I should be about the times of day in which I shoot.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Posters « FabFotos on 09 Nov 2010 at 2:45 pm

    […] change the Broken image here from the original version posted in my Blend & Types post. When the original was printed, it was discovered that the saturation was not set high enough. So […]

Leave a Reply

